Home / Court System / Firearms and Weapons
Firearms and Weapons -


       Even a law-abiding citizen can violate one of the laws of California that deal with weapons. While you may not need a permit to purchase a handgun, all purchases must go through a licensed firearms dealer. Out of state people moving into California have 60 days to register their handguns. Some transfers are exempted.

Who Cannot Possess a Firearm

       It is unlawful for anyone convicted of a felony to own or possess any firearm. It is unlawful for a person with certain misdemeanor convictions involving force or violence (such as domestic violence) to own or possess any firearm for a period of 10 years after the conviction. Juveniles who are adjudicated for crimes of felonies or misdemeanors crimes of violence are prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm until age 30. Federal restrictions can last for a lifetime with certain convictions.

Carrying a Loaded Rifle, Shotgun or Handgun

       It is unlawful to carry a loaded rifle, shotgun or handgun in any public place. Exceptions would be on a target range, while hunting at a shooting club, or while at home or your place of business.

Carrying a Concealed Handgun

       Carrying concealed handguns requires a license. A handgun in your glove compartment or under the seat would be illegal. However, you can carry the handgun in your trunk or locked in a container. Most gun dealers can providethe approved container.

       Currently, rifles and shotguns do not require a permit for purchase nor do you need to register them or get a license to own one. For handguns, you do not need to obtain a permit, but all purchases are reported to the police for their recordkeeping. You don't need to be licensed to own a handgun but you do need a permit to carry one and you must register a handgun. If you move into California with a handgun, you have 60 days to register your handgun. These laws change frequently, so it is important to check with a lawyer to find out the current state of the law.

Involvement of a Firearm during a Crime

       Additionally, the involvement of a firearm during the commission of a felony can have significant impact on the sentence. For example, if a person uses a firearm during the course of a robbery, then the person will receive an additional 10 years to the prison sentence. If the person actually discharges the firearm, the enhancement jumps to 20 years.

- Written by , Attorney at Law

 

 

 



Home
History of Criminal Law
Statistics
Drug Offenses

Three Strikes Law
Property Crimes
Violent Crimes

Sex Crimes

Firearms and Weapons
White Collar Crime
Victimless Crimes
Juvenile Law
California DMV
California DUI
Court System

  Felony Procedures
  Misdemeanor Procedures
  Criminal Appeals
    - Appealing a Felony

    - Appealing a Misdemeanor
    - Appealing an Infraction

    - Appellate Attorney
 
Post Conviction Relief
    - Clear Criminal Record
    - Felony Expungement
    - Misdemeanor Expungement
    - Pardon
California Penal Code
California Prisons
Federal Crimes
Victims Rights

Selecting an Attorney
   Criminal Law Specialist
   California State Bar

Site Map - Copyright © 2009 - 2012 - All Rights Reserved - California-Criminal-Law.com - Disclaimer/Privacy Policy - About Us